Reply To: I’m a total beginner to Rosetta 3.2 and there are no tutorials for me to follow. Can someone help.? =)

Member Site Forums Rosetta 3 Rosetta 3 – General I’m a total beginner to Rosetta 3.2 and there are no tutorials for me to follow. Can someone help.? =) Reply To: I’m a total beginner to Rosetta 3.2 and there are no tutorials for me to follow. Can someone help.? =)

Anonymous

Overview and checklist
    Here is a “checklist” for setting up a ligand docking experiment. Details for all the steps are given below.
    A. Reformat starting structures
    1. Protein receptor in PDB format with no waters or cofactors; each metal ion should have a unique chain ID.
    a. Does this mean that from the PDB file downloaded, we just need to delete the waters and metal ions, and just keep the protein residues instead?

Delete everything that’s not a protein atom. Rosetta ignores all the stuff at the beginning, may as well delete it too…

2. Cofactors, if any, should be in .sdf or .mol2 format, with coordinates taken from the original PDB file.
    a. Does this mean that I should make a copy of the original PDB file, then delete all the lines just leaving the cofactor (metal ion), and then convert to sdf or mol2 using Babel?

I guess so. PyMOL can do it too.

3. Ligands to be docked should be in .sdf or .mol2 format, one ligand per file. If you’re trying to reproduce a known binding mode, those ligand coordinates should be used.
    a. Does this mean that I should make a copy of the original PDB file, then delete all the lines just leaving the ligand, and then convert to sdf or mol2 using Babel?
    B. Prepare ligands and cofactors
    1. Generate conformers if desired. All conformers should be in the same .sdf / .mol2; one file per compound. Tautomers / protomers count as different compounds.
    2. Assign partial charges if desired. Only charges from the first entry in the file are used. Charges can only be read from .mol2 files.