docking search: first residue centroids, then full atom?

Member Site Forums Rosetta++ Rosetta++ – General docking search: first residue centroids, then full atom?

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      davidbaker
      Participant

I am a novice, learning RosettaDock by trial, error, and reading the web.
        My goal is to dock a yeast protein to a kinase — we have other experimental evidence
        that the protein in question is a direct substrate of that kinase. I hope that docking can
        either contradict, or lend support, to that claim.

My question: how do I locate the ‘funnel’?

My naive approach has been to
        1) run hundreds of simple fast searches, with side chains expressed only
        as residue centroids
        2) find some low-scoring results
        3) run those again in full-atom mode (are the full-atom scores still good?)
        4) eventually, use the lowest scoring full-atom models for docking in
        perturbation mode, hoping to find a funnel

Does this make sense? Or does ‘residue centroid’ docking mode leave out
        too much detail to be useful? Finally, is there a guide for all of this? I have
        not found one.

Many thanks,

– Paul Shannon
        Institute for Systems Biology

Anonymous

See the following answers from Docking developers.
          —-

Dear Paul,

If I understand correctly, you would like to dock two proteins, one of which is a yeast protein and the other is a kinase. I would go about it as follows:

1. If some biological information is known like active sites etc which are known to be at the interacting interface, align the two molecules in a consistent manner. (Constraint files might be used to bias the simulations) (only -dock_pert 3 8 8 –spin flags are sufficient)

2. If you have no idea about the interacting regions, it does not matter how the partners are aligned ( -randomize1 –randomize2 –dock_pert 5 10 10 –spin)